Hip-Hop: Beyond Beats and Rhymes

home_front.jpgI’m extremely excited to see this documentary airing on PBS tonight. I listened to the director, Byron Hunt, talk about his documentary on NPR today. Apparently, the documentary deals with “machismo in hip-hop.” The documentary seeks to explore issues of misogyny, homophobia, and violence in hip-hop. I’m really interested in these issues and the alienation that occurs due to these aspects of hip-hop, or more specifically, mainstream rap music. I’ve become kind of the regional expert on hip-hop because of my understanding and participation in hip-hop over the last 15-16 years or so. A lot of people that I know are opposed to hip-hop without ever having the opportunity to listen to the diverse array of lyrics and topics that hip-hop offers. An hour later after I’ve properly “schooled” them to BDP, Public Enemy, Rakim, Common, The Roots, Talib Kweli, and more, their eyes light up and you can see an evident paradigm shift. I’m anxious to see what sides of the issue this documentary explores. From what I understand, the documentary is descriptive and doesn’t seek to be prescriptive. I’m sure it will touch on big business and the role that major record companies play in perpetuating these stereotypes. So… with that said, tune in tonight on PBS and see what Mr. Byron Hunt has to say about the music that many of us love and grew up on. Read more about the documentary here.

Here are some previews:

1 Response to “Hip-Hop: Beyond Beats and Rhymes”


  1. 1 Alianna Hamer March 21, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    I went to the showing of your video lastnight at UMCK in KC. I am very touched at your courage to produce a film such as this. I feel there are many areas we need to focus on as a nation, and it will not be until we are able to defeat racism, then will we ever be able to attempt the issues with in our genders. There is soo much that divides us as a society, culture, and a nation. And it saddens me. Thank you for your dedication and choice on such a great issue!! I applaude you, and look forward to seeing more of what you filmed.


Leave a comment




Recent Comments

Alianna Hamer on Hip-Hop: Beyond Beats and…
Ryan on From The Bronx to Japan: An An…
Ryan on The Oscars

del.icio.us

RSS Rotten Tomatoes Current Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 1,018 hits